Hero

After spending 14 honorable years in the United States Army, thinking back on my career, I’ve asked myself would I be willing to sacrifice it all again. Without a doubt. That would mean deploying to Iraq and Afghanistan again, being away from my family on numerous occasions, putting myself in harms way, among many other issues. While apart of this elite fraternity of outstanding individuals I learned a lot about life and overall about the person that is called ME, myself a Regular.

Growing up in a small town in Alabama, with a family that wanted to shelter me from the bad trappings of the world only made me want them; I wanted to know why I was being sheltered and why they were “bad.” Don’t get wrong, I’m not saying that my upbringing was bad, I wish I didn’t have to leave home to experience them. For example, I didn’t have my first taste of alcohol until I joined the military. I had a LOT of firsts when I joined the Army. If you’ve followed my blog, I’ve given you a glimpse of ME. I started THE REGULARS Blog because I felt and still feel that regular life is better than a life in front of cameras. Now I don’t want to be a hypocrite and say that I wouldn’t want that lifestyle, but I would HAVE to have the wealth to go along with it.It amazes me how some of us, Regulars, are mesmerized by the lifestyle of a celebrity. I don’t know what it is. Is it the money? Is it the expensive lifestyle? Who knows.

My Hero’s aren’t celebrities. My Hero’s are Regular people. Mothers, Fathers, Brothers, Sisters, Friends, etc. I’m sure that many celebrities would gladly take the place of one of us so they are allowed to just live life. My hope is that one day we wake up and realize that a person that provides for their family is a hero, that individual you can count on to be there in your time of need is a hero, that person that sacrifices everything so many can have. I could go on and on.

If we worried about our own lives then this unbalanced world would start to balance itself out. I’m no life expert and I will never claim to be one. I still have a lot to learn, BUT, I’m content at being a REGULAR doing it.

20140718-114925-42565442.jpg

20140718-114924-42564109.jpg

20140718-114924-42564919.jpg

20140718-114923-42563699.jpg

2 thoughts on “Hero

  1. I have been thinking about our conversation today and it moved me to do some research. I found this poem online and immediately thought of you. Jared your words are a powerful voice in this world, and I don’t think you were put here to just be regular. You are a light for a few, who can be a light for many. Don’t limit yourself. You have two very vital things that makes it important for you to push forward, a story to tell and a passion to do it…so I ask again where is the book?
    Will this poem ring true?
    And should I leave this world tomorrow,
    To blether about the deeds I’ve done,
    Will praise be graced upon my memory,
    Or shall my passing go unknown?

    I never claimed to be a sinner,
    Nor a saint if truth be told,
    Nor did I strive to be a hero,
    The life I lived was never bold.

    I merit not, a legend’s status,
    The myth of me won’t raise eyebrows,
    Except, perhaps, selective friends,
    Who know and love who I am now.

    Perhaps my life was ordinary,
    The fast lane never courted thrills,
    Although I sometimes longed for glory,
    My humble service kept me still.

    As I look back through my years,
    My compromise needs no forgiving,
    With no regrets, I close my eyes,
    On an ordinary life, worth living!
    By Harry Boslem
    Published: 8/6/2012

Leave a Reply

