Who’s Ready for Some damn College Football?

posterAfter all the chaos of the National Signing Day put behind us, who is ready for some good ol’ College Football? I know I am.

The last two games of the season for my Alabama Crimson Tide really left a sour taste in my mouth. To top it off, the Alabama Coaching staff hired Lane Kiffin. I know many of the Tide faithful are looking as if we are going to have another subpar season. Last year, our record was 11-2. As an Alabama Crimson Tide Fanatic, that is unacceptable. Why, you ask? It’s not because we lost those two games, it’s how we lost those games. As fans, we hold the players to a standard that is sometimes unreachable. We expect them to win a National Title every year. Could we have done it last year? In my opinion, yes, but I don’t get paid to make those decisions so I am only looking at this from one point of view and that’s as a fan.

I would love to see the Crimson Tide win every game, but holding those players and the Coaching Staff to that standard is crazy. You can’t win all the time, not even having a team full of 5 Star athletes. I would love to sit here and say that we are going to dominate next season, but if you look at all the factors, those questions can’t be answered yet. Our “Game Manager” as some called him, A.J. McCarron is going off to the NFL, so we are going to have a hard time trying to nail down who will hold that elite title as the Alabama Crimson Tide starting Quarterback. We have a stable of capable Running Backs and Wide Receivers, but what about the Defense? Can Kirby Smart take the talent that we had last year and project those guys to a number 1 type Defense? I don’t know. Many people say that it takes a great Defense to win games and I believe that to be somewhat true, but you can’t win without having a strong Quarterback.

As much as I would love the Tide to capitalize at the Quarterback position and possibly use the same Offensive scheme that gave our Defense a fit last year. We have that ability with Redshirt Junior Quarterback Blake Sims, but do you actually think that Coach Nick Saban will use him in that way. Not quite. I see him taking some snaps to relieve the starter, but him becoming the starting Quarterback for a “Pro-Style” Offense, is not going to happen. I think that as the season progresses, he could possibly learn how to manage the game as A.J. did, but it’s too early to tell right now. He has a strong arm and sometimes reminds me of a Michael Vick type Quarterback. He can be elusive, but I don’t see him calling the right audible at the right time, just because he hasn’t had the opportunity to do so. A.J. came under the wing of New York Jets Quarterback Greg McElroy. While taking over the duties from Greg, he knew the Offense in and out. Blake didn’t get the same opportunity.

Many of you already know that I can talk about Alabama Football all day, but I will spare you and just say that we have a lot of hurdles to jump during the Spring and Summer workouts. Another monkey wrench thrown in is 44-14784-Fthe playoff system that will be incorporated this season. There are going to be a lot of factors that would have to be put in place for the Alabama Crimson Tide to be put back in the National Title picture. This is going to be an interesting off season, but I’m ready to see it all unfold.

“IF YOU CONTINUE TO DO THE SAME THING THAT YOU HAVE ALWAYS DONE, YOU WILL GET THE SAME RESULT. GUARANTEED.” -The Alabama Crimson Tide Coaching Staff

#ROLLDAMNTIDE!

Leave a Reply

