CXX

What a whirlwind, the last 24 hours have been. I’m still in shock. I don’t believe it, but I know its real.

As I sit here in front of this computer screen trying to put something together, I can’t. It almost feels like my Grandmother is telling me to let go. Its crazy how much an individual means to you when they pass away. For me it’s knowing the fact that I will never get to say I love you to her. We as human beings take LIFE for granted. We get used to people being around so much that while they are in flesh form, you could go years without talking or corresponding with that person, but as soon as that person takes their final breath on this earth, you feel as if your world crumbles at your feet. I could sit here and say what I could have or should have done better, but what is that going to do, other than make me miss my Grandmother more? Nothing.

On March 8, 2007, my Aunt Tammy was called home. That day is bitter sweet, because it’s my birthday. I remember the day of the funeral, I kept asking myself if I really wanted to go, because I kept telling myself that I didn’t want to see her that way, but my Grandmother said, “you need to go honey, it would do you some good. JJ, you hear me? Alright, don’t make me spank you boy. You ain’t too old to get no whipping.” My Grandmother is preparing to bury her last girl and she is being strong for me? Shouldn’t it be the other way around? As we walked in the church, we were ushered down the center to our seats at the front. I remember my Grandmother holding my hand and holding it tight as we got closer to the casket. She let my hand go, walked up to the casket, kissed Tammy, said I love you and we sat down. She did shed some tears, but I was more emotional than she was.

My Grandmother and my Uncle Rod, her oldest son, are the spearhead of this family. No matter what happens, who can you always count on? Uncle Rod and Aunt Gail, these two have already raised their children, some nieces, and nephews. My grandmother has 3 sons, but Uncle Rod is the only that goes above and beyond for the family in the time of need. I asked him why does he does it? He said somebody has to do it. I could go on and on about this or that, but I know that’s not what she wants. She wants her life to be celebrated. Its easy to say it, but so damn hard to let go. I can hear her soft voice saying to me, “let go honey. Don’t cry for me. I’m going home, it’s time for me to go see my girls.”

Take the time whenever you have a chance to let your family know that you love them. We’re not perfect and we won’t change overnight, but we can do better. Stop taking LIFE for granted. Cherish it, because you NEVER know if your last hug, kiss, conversation about nothing, or just being in the same room with a certain person, is the last time you spend until eternity………

“Just know that God makes no mistakes and he won’t bring you to what he won’t bring you through. He gives his hardest test to his toughest Soldiers. Keep your head up! EVERYTHING will be OKAY! Gods got you!” -Amanda Deas

“Come unto me all those who are burden and heavy laden, and I will give you rest”…..HE means that…HIS rest is for YOU…..HE also tells us “take HIS yoke upon us for HIS yoke is easy and HIS burden is light”…..when we are weak…then HE is strong….welcome Jared you are just where you are suppose to be…..LEANING ON HIM!!!!!!!! HE can handle ALL of it!!!! HE died to do just that…….love ya” -Aunt Gail Gober

photo-24

Rest In Peace Grandma Edna M. Glover

You will be truly missed. I love you and look forward to our reunion on Judgement Day.

SUNSET JANUARY 23, 2014IMG_5357

Leave a Reply

