0b1110001

Today I am going to talk about a subject that may be controversial to some and nonchalant to others. I am going to give you MY point of view of the N-Word. When I say N-Word, I am talking about the word Nigger/Nigga. The spelling doesn’t really matter, I believe it to be derogatory no matter how you put it. I am going to speak on the damage that this word has caused in the past and what it has done for mankind in general. Before I into the “meat & potatoes” of my rant, first, I would like to give you the Webster’s Dictionary meaning of the word.
According to Webster’s Dictionary, Nigger – (nig-ger), a noun, a contemptuous (contemptuous means showing contempt; scornful) term for a black or dark-skinned person; the word originated as a neutral term referring to black people, as a variation of the Spanish/Portuguese noun negro, a descendant of the Latin adjective Niger (“color black”). Often used disparagingly, by the mid 20th Century, particularly in the United States, it suggested that its target is extremely unsophisticated. Its usage had become unambiguously pejorative (pejorative means expressing contempt or disapproval), a common ethnic slur usually directed at blacks of Sub-Saharan African descent. On the same token, Nigger/Nigga, used in our current generation, many individuals say that they use the word as a term of endearment.
I am not going to be “that black person” that says or go above and beyond to make the average american think that I am the most politically correct person on the planet and have never used the word; it was due to my ignorance and someone made me feel like it was okay for me to use, because I was taught it was a term of endearment. Before finding the correct information and I finally decided to take the “ignorance blindfold” off, I tried to make myself believe that it was okay; also, okay for black people to say it to each other. Now, what’s crazy or ridiculous is, if a white person or someone with lighter skin than the person who is “allowed” to say it, uses the word, it becomes a problem because automatically that person is being racist. Who is the approving authority? Society? People around you at the time the word was said? What if that same person who “isn’t allowed” to use the word, says to a person with dark skin, they were not using it in an anti-derogatorist way and they were not trying to be racist. Does that make it okay then?
I know there are Black Americans across this country that would say the last example I explained is the way it’s meant to be.I, Jared J. Gober, Leader of the Regulars, also, A proud Black American Man, 100% and whole-heartedly would have to disagree that percentage of Black America. It doesn’t matter what someone says or how educated they may be, the word is not a term of endearment. Keep in mind, that this is only, MY opinion and mine alone, so don’t try and put every other Black American in this category. There is also a percentage of Black America that will say, because I am making the word off limits to everyone, no matter what color they are, that I am not doing our race any justice. How, you ask? Because, Black Americans were able to take a word that was meant to be derogatory and put us down, was taken and turned into something that we are finally okay with, between each person of the same skin color, Right?If the rest of the world also thought like this, then it would be okay, but the rest of the world DOES NOT think this way. When someone calls another human being a Nigger/Nigga, they are not trying to express love or affection for the intended target. During the Civil Rights Era, there were individuals that lost their lives because they wanted equality. Paid the ultimate sacrifice for future Black Americans to have the chance to live in a place where everyone is treated the same, no matter your skin color or ethnic background.
This word will never go away, Why? The fact is because of ignorance; because individuals are using the word as a term of endearment; because individuals are ignorant and continue to use the word in a derogatory manner. There are other races, ethic backgrounds and individuals with lighter skin using this word between themselves, because they are showing love or affection for a brother/sister that’s just like they are. Does this NOW make it right? NO! Never will. Nigger is used in the music and entertainment and it’s becoming more accepted because the industry doesn’t cater to ONE specific race/ethnicity. Because we accept it from an artist, does this also make it okay? In no way am I saying that an artist should alter or change the way they express themselves, but take the word Nigger/Nigga and replace it with something else.What? I don’t know. There are creative individuals in the world we live in, it’s going to take someone to finally take charge and erase the word from books of today and keep them out of the books of the future. I believe it should be taught, so everyone knows about the struggle, but don’t dwell on it. Yes, there is going to be those people that will take it and run with it, but we have to be strong individuals and do what Dr. Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, Rosa Parks, Harriet Tubman etc. wanted us to do.
All they wanted was equality. Can their souls finally rest in peace knowing that what they fought for, were spit on for, sprayed with water hoses for, stopped by the National Guard for; it was done for a reason and not in vain? Another fact not talked about much in the history books is, it wasn’t only black people fighting for black people, but the same individuals that we as Black America blame, the reason we are in this country today were also fighting for equality of America. Soon enough, one of these days it will be okay for everyone on this planet to be a human being and everyone will forget about discriminating/segregating/using violence against another race. Wishful thinking? I hope not. We will get it together one of these days. I hope for the sake of the future America it’s soon.
4 thoughts on “0b1110001

  1. To me, there is no difference between Nigger & Nigga. It’s all semantics. I definitely don’t agree w/ the latter spelling of it, being a term of endearment. Personally, I don’t get offended when someone of another ethnicity calls me one w/ a malice intent. When someone is trying to insult you, they go for the jugular. If the person is fat, they will get called a, “fat so & so”. If they are skinny, they will get called a, “skinny so & so”. I’m black & I understand some ppl’s offensive choice of words will be Nigger. I take it in stride. But, I do agree that the word shouldn’t be used at all. I’m an artist & I have refrained from using the word in my music & I also strive not to use it in general conversation. Bottom line, the word has a negative connotation & should not be used in any form.

    1. I don’t get mad when I am called one either, but until all black Americans start to think like that it will continue to have the negative affect. Thank you for the support. It really means a lot homie.

  2. If I could get the generation I supervise to understand where this comes from then they maybe a little easier to deal with. It frustrates the hell out of me. I understand that some will say that we as a people have reclaimed this negative hateful word and made it our own, perhaps a term of endearment; but damn when is enough, enough?

Leave a Reply

