Wa’vatlh-maH

As I sit here and wait for my appointment at the VA Hospital, it conjures up a few thoughts and I would like to share them with you. I really wish that the VA would either invest in building another facility as large as this or close to it. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind making the drive, because I get paid to make the drive. A quick $130.00 for traveling almost 3 hours. It’s not that bad.

It’s crazy at the amount of Veterans that are seen at this hospital. They’re just not enough Doctors, Physicians Assistants (PA) and Nurses to facilitate the current and future influx. It’s no wonder why some Veterans say screw it, because of the amount of individuals and wait times. With so many people being seen, it’s hard for the doctor to really take the time out and conduct a thorough diagnosis. I do realize that in order to build new facilities, the money has to come from somewhere. The question is, where would the money come from? Who knows! I don’t!

I feel that the government should look over the budget closer than they are due to a lot of the money being wasted. Individuals that are not working and have no intentions to work are taking advantage of the Welfare System daily. Those same individuals get used to having the government take care of them and their family. It’s a shame, the people that need the help can’t get it, but that’s not the reason for this Rant. With all the money that the United States shells out, it makes me sick to my stomach, because our country is suffering, but in order to keep the peace with the rest of the world, we have to do this or that.

I’m ignorant or not well-educated on the subject of politics, so all I am doing is complaining. Another ridiculous fact is you have individuals that run for certain offices and in order to get said office they cater to the military or Veterans in general in order to sway that voting demographic. Once that individual gets into said office, it’s like they forget about what they “promised” or our issues get put on the back burner. I know that I am preaching to the choir ranting on this issue, so don’t beat me up. I am not or will ever proclaim to be the individual with the answer, but I do feel if there were a panel or something like it, full of regular Veterans, I’m sure we could come up with something that suits us all.

The elected individuals aren’t the ones that go to Iraq/Afghanistan and be killed or injured for this country. I do realize that we have an “All Volunteer force” and we made the choice to join on our own free will. In some ways it feels like a lose-lose situation. Don’t get me wrong, I know there are politicians that have served; they know and understand what we go through. I’m not blaming a particular individual, this is for our government as a whole. I know there are different individuals, lobbyist and political figures that are doing their best to look out for us, but we all know it’s not enough. I wish I could snap my fingers and this issue would be fixed, but that’s a wild dream. I do realize that no matter the outcome, it will not make everyone happy.

I don’t have a solution or one that will fix it all. I guess the only thing I can do is be content with the help that I am getting, because there are Veterans that are not able to get to a clinic to get help. Hopefully in the near future we as Americans can get this right, meaning elect the right individuals that will be looking out for the welfare of the country and it’s citizens.

One thought on “Wa’vatlh-maH

  1. Legalize weed in all 50 states tax it like tobacco or booze and use the money to pay for it all. I would be willing to bet a testicle that if weed was legal and taxed real hefty for the first lets say 5 years, we would be an economic power house again.
    Oh and next time I go to a VA appointment I might just leave in the party wagon, and that good sir is real f’ing talk! They got me ready to spit in faces, and man I don’t do that! Not even to Taliban. Shits just wrong. How do your “own” ppl make you more mad then the guys that killed your homeboys. It’s bad when your twisted mind makes them out to be the bad guys huh?

Leave a Reply

