108

Since it’s Friday Night and I know everybody is winding down from the holidays, I will do my best to keep this short.

Tomorrow is my first time coaching a Basketball Game. If you guys had to guess what the name of my team is, what would you say? Yep, you got it right, TIDE! I feel comfortable about what we put together as far as the fundamentals we taught before the holiday break. Hopefully, we don’t fall apart too quick. Yesterday, also today, I called and sent texts to the parents of my players to remind them of practice today. We arrived and the only players that were there on time were my two girls and Coach B’s daughter. About 15 minutes later another player comes strolling in. Right now we have 4 players so trying to come up with an Offensive scheme would be pointless. It is now 6:30 and here comes 3 more players. We only have 30 minutes to reinforce our Defense Scheme, which we ended up changing anyway. We practiced using a 2-3 Zone, but with the time we had tonight, we thought it would be better if we went with a 1-2-2 Zone. With the little time we had, we accomplished a lot. As the season progresses and we have an opportunity to practice, we will then have a chance to incorporate more plays based off of the 1-2-2 and 2-3 Zone.

 

Okay, let’s go ahead and get this out of the way; my Alabama Crimson Tide lost to the Oklahoma Sooners, the score was 45-31. It was unbelievable. I was shocked. We started out with some promise, but towards the middle of the second quarter and the second half, our Offensive Line did not protect A.J. McCarron which was more added pressure, the added pressure put on him by the media. They made a big deal of him playing his last game as the starting Quarterback for the Crimson Tide. I understand that their intentions were good, but he still a young man, but depending on him and not putting the weight on the rest of the team, as seen in the eyes of the nation, it was unfair. He was trying to hard to make plays happen when there wasn’t a play their. As a team, we had 5 Turnovers (3 Interceptions & 2 fumbles). He played the Quarterback position for Coach Nick Saban to the best of his ability. During his tenure as Quarterback at the University, he threw for an Alabama Crimson Tide historic 5,956, 49 Touchdowns and 8 Interceptions with an Overall Passer Rating (OQR): 66.7. He’s broken every single quarterback record for quarterback at the University. Another issue I have with a lot of Sports Analysts is they label him as a “Game Manager,” which during the 2011-2012 Season, that may have been true, but during the 2011 BCS National Title Game he showed that he could be much more than that. What’s crazy, out of all the awards, trophies, on top of the accomplishments, they are only going to remember everything he didn’t do well. A lot of people may not like him, but people need to keep in mind of EVERYTHING he has done and judge him off of those statistics, instead of his last and final game as the starting quarterback of the Alabama Crimson Tide; but that’s neither here nor there. I said it at the beginning of the season and I will say it until I can’t say it anymore, I love my damn Tide and always will. #ROLLDAMNTIDE! 

On to another note, this week couldn’t have ended any better. Why, you ask? On Thursday, I found a really, really, close friend that I had in High School. While we were in Junior High School and High School, I had the biggest crush on her. We started off as friends, then became best friends. I was stuck in the “friend-zone” for a long time, until I finally manned up and did what I had to do. Obviously, it didn’t work out, but life has different paths for everyone. I tried to make something happen before I went to my first duty station, but we really couldn’t do anything, because she was in College and I would be at Fort Bragg, NC. I was furious, but looking back on it now, she was very mature and made the right decision. I had hard feelings at the beginning, but as time passed holding on to that pain does nothing, but keep negative energy around me. I’ve learned and I am still learning how to stay and keep a positive attitude. Just her coming into my life again was crazy. The last 3 maybe 4 weeks have been pretty good. Out of all the negativity that happened during November and December, it’s good to have something positive happen to you. I am positive that things are only going to higher from this point. What I can honestly say and I am ecstatic about is that all of the negativity and everything going wrong, only brought my family and I together as a more cohesive unit.

I haven’t really been watching the news or reading any newspapers, well other than the sports sections, so I really don’t know what’s going on in the rest of the world. Once I get myself caught up on what’s going on in the world, then I MAY Blog about some news. The reasoning behind that decision is, I am attempting to broaden the range of this Blog so I am able to expand my vocabulary and overall become a better Blogger. We will see how that works out. I’m pretty confident in myself, but sometimes the way I write, I can sound like an uneducated person. I really don’t want dive into writing a book with my current vernacular. Of course, if anyone that follows this Blog and you have suggestions on how I can make my Blog better or challenge me with a specific topic to write about. I am able to take constructive criticism so don’t worry about any backlash.

I know I said that I would try my best to keep it short, but hey, I haven’t posted anything in a couple of days. I’ll have more tomorrow after we play our first Basketball game. I’m not going to critique them too much, but I will take some good notes. Ain’t nobody getting paid! I told the girls that no matter what the outcome of the game is, I just want them to have fun. This is Recreation Basketball, so I don’t need anyone trying to Michael Jordan. Just play your position, do your best to throw good passes, if you call for the ball you better catch it and the most important thing, HAVE FUN!!

 

tumblr_lzjj1fDVnb1qexvlco1_r1_500

 

 

Leave a Reply

