XCVI

Everybody has an opinion when it comes to politics, but never have an answer for their issue that they are complaining about. I have done my share of complaining also, so I don’t excuse myself from being a big part of that problem. I’ve done a little research on what it takes to run for different offices at the City, County, State and Federal Level. There are qualifications to each seat no matter how large or small you think it is. If you don’t fit every single qualification for that seat, then you need to cross it off your list. I’ve looked at a couple of seats that I am eligible to run for right now. I found a list of questions that need to be answered before “jumping in head first.” I found this list at the following website: http://www.completecampaigns.com/article.asp?articleid=13. To save you some time, I will list and answer these questions here before we move on.

1) Choose the office you want to run for. While the idea of being President may be tempting, its always best to start on a local or state level. [Answer: I would like to run for an office that I can make a big impact, but I can’t due to education, specific criteria among other issues. After looking a list of offices that I am eligible to run for, the Office or Seat I can run for right now without any problems is: MEMBER, COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION. Not exciting as running for mayor or something like that, but you have to start somewhere.]

2) Check the qualifications for the office. At a minimum, this usually means that you must be a registered voter in the geographical area in which you are running; there may also be age, residency or experience qualifications. [Answer: Qualifications for: MEMBER, COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

  • 1. Must be a citizen of this state: CHECK
  • 2. Must have been a resident of the county from which elected for 12 months immediately preceding election: CHECK
  • 3. Must be a qualified voter. O.C.G.A. § 45-2-1: CHECK
  • 4. Must reside within the school district in which he or she seeks election and in the election district which he or she represents: Ga. Const. Art. 8, § 5, ¶ 2, O.C.G.A. § 20-2-51, Cross-Reference: Art. 8, § 5, ¶ 2, and O.C.G.A. § 20-2-51 establish county school districts under the management and control of a county board of education. Annotation: Residency requirements for the election of local school board members cannot be e tablished by local board bylaws. Op. Atty. Gen. U97-25: CHECK
  • 5. Must not be: a) employed by or serving on the governing board of any private educational body or institution; b) employed by the local board of education and be on the same board; c) employed by either the State Department of Education or the State Board of Education. O.C.G.A. § 20-2-51 (c): CHECK

3) File the required papers to get yourself on the ballot. Procedures for doing this vary by city, county, and state. A filing fee may also be required. [Answer: This has not been answered yet, but I am making calls to the Board of Education to find out what I need to do to get my name of the Ballot.]

There is a plethora of other questions that need to be answered before diving right into this. You have to campaign, get a petition with a minimum number of signatures among other questions.

I know a lot of you are probably think that I am joking about this, but I am not. In order to make a change in any part of the government, you have to be actively involved in it, whether it be on the local or Federal level. I don’t want to continue to complain and not take action. I will keep all of you updated as I get closer to completing this goal. No, it’s not a spectacular office, but I will someday put myself in the position to make a difference in this country. If it’s only at the local level, I’ve completed and accomplished my goal.

#ROLLDAMNTIDE!

OBAMA_CHANGE_NOPE 44-14784-F

Leave a Reply

