94

This may sound ridiculous, but I hate commercials. Why? The reason I hate commercials is because they make whatever it is they are advertising look awesome; because I feel this way towards commercials, they have done their job.

What needs to happen is they need to show how the product is used by REGULAR people in the REGULAR world. If I, for example, see the advertised product in that capacity, then I’m sure I would stop a lot of impulse buying. A commercial gives you a false sense of security, at least that’s the way I feel. Let me explain, the advertised product seems like it’s so much better than the product you are already using. They always show the product that is advertised, in the perfect conditions. How about you go to a REGULAR house and show how your product will out-do your rival.

It never fails that when I go to the grocery store, for a specific item, I always leave the store with that item along with others. Why? Because I saw a commercial on a specific product and I say to myself that I need that product, because it’s awesome and that’s what the commercial said. Gullible? Yes, very, especially when it comes to shopping in a grocery store. What I do now is instead of going to the store with a debit card, I go to the ATM, get just enough money to buy what I need and nothing else.

It may sound ridiculous, but I never could have imagined that I, a gangsta-ass individual (just a joke), succumbs to the advertising of a product. Crazy, Right? I know. The advertising industry achieved the outcome they were looking for, because I am posting an article on my Blog regarding advertising. I am getting better, but it’s going to take some time. As I stated in a previous post, that I am an addict, you can add this to my list of addictions: Drinking Sprite, Using Smokeless Tobacco & Impulse buying because of a damn commercial.

I know that I am not the only one with flaws or issues such as the ones listed above, but I am not scared to say that I have these issues!

Jay-Z Water to a Well

 

Leave a Reply

