Zweiundneunzig

We are now at the point of the year to celebrate the holidays. People become generous, start handing out money, secret santa’s and all that good stuff. Why does it take a specific time of year for individuals to have compassion for their fellow man? Why does it take bringing in a New Year for you to make a promise to yourself or friends/family of something that you want to do better? Why wait when you can do it RIGHT NOW?

We have become so used to doing this, because that’s what everybody else does. People say all the time that they aren’t doing or making the resolution for anyone but themselves, if that were true, wouldn’t you start as soon as you saw a change needed to be made, instead of waiting for a New Year? I have fallen victim to the “New Years Resolution” and have not followed through with a certain resolution, because it’s so easy to quit. When it starts getting hard and you have to start using self discipline it becomes so easy to quit and make excuses for yourself. I know that I’m not alone, but I am a person that isn’t afraid to admit it. I did the same thing in previous years also. It’s crazy when you sit back and think about the promise “resolution” that you made to yourself and what the circumstances as to why you did not follow through. Everybody does the same thing. Why wait?

When you wait, you are only setting yourself up for failure, because you are giving yourself days, weeks or even months time to come up with excuses. It’s easy to say that I will do it next year. It’s hard to say, that I will do it now. It doesn’t have to be something major, start off small. If you are able to keep that promise to yourself then go big. It’s ultimately up to you and how strong you are mentally. That’s why I say start small. If you are trying to quit smoking, surround yourself around people that don’t smoke or that won’t tempt you to smoke, so you are able to keep that promise. You can’t do it all by yourself, you need a support system that will make you hold up your end of the bargain. It’s not going to be easy, but you have to stick it through. If it were easy, then everybody would be doing it. I made a promise, resolution to myself a couple of weeks ago, I said that I WILL lose 30 pounds within the next 3 months. There was no way in the world that I could wait until the New Year, because the only thing I am doing is allowing myself to be a pig and gain more weight that will be harder to get rid of.

I have a great support system. I have 3 women who make sure that I am doing the right thing. A resolution that I made to myself that NO ONE knows about is that I promised myself that I would not drink any alcohol whatsoever. I can say that since making that promise to myself I haven’t had an alcoholic beverage since the beginning of October. I wasn’t a raging alcoholic, I would call myself a social drinker or my close friends would call me an extreme lightweight. I have no clue what triggered it, but I just lost the taste for alcohol. Instead of enjoying the taste for a cold beer, all it did was give me a headache and it was impossible for me to enjoy it. The smell and taste made me sick to my stomach, that made it easier for me to keep my promise. I have another resolution that I will make, but in the near future, eventually I want to stop dipping. I enjoy it, that’s why I am not ready to make that resolution yet. I hear it all the time how bad it is and how my face is going to fall off, but I’m a grown man and I made the decision to start and I will make the decision to stop doing it.

The point I am trying to make is don’t wait to make a change, do it now. You don’t know if you will even make it to see tomorrow, let alone the New Year. Take it one day at a time. Set yourself up for success, but surrounding yourself with positive individuals and those that want to see you make a change for the better. It’s not going to be an easy road, but stick to it. You can do it. Be positive and think positive thoughts, don’t let so-called friends and family get you down. If you put out positive energy, you’ll get positive energy and positive results in the end.

I promise to
I promise to

*No Copyright Infringement Intended; Photo Credit: Intuitive Body (www.intuitivebody.com), by: Lisa Claudia Briggs*

Leave a Reply

