THE REGULARS

No one special. Just living my life day to day as a REGULAR.

八十四

Today was very busy. I can’t wait to win this tournament so we can go to state! We have been practicing our pants off. Tomorrow is our last day of practice, so it’s going to be a little intense, just to get the heart rate up, a lot of stretching and going over the very basic skills of the game. Some of the kids are so ready to play, that they making mistakes that they usually wouldn’t make.

So let me tell you how smart I was on Monday, Tuesday and today. The Head Coaches son is really good, he’s short, but quick, he can put his foot on the ball, it’s crazy how he makes it look too easy. On Monday, at the end of practice he says to me, “Coach Jared, can you help me with something?” I said, “Sure, what’s up?” He says, 1 v 1. I said What? He wanted to play a game of 1 on 1. Like the smart and intelligent man that I am I said lets do it. He scores on me, gives me the ball, takes it and scores a goal. That happened 3 times. After that, I said I’m done. At this point there are 3 kids in the wings waiting for their turn to go one on one with Coach Jared. I have had to schedule the Coach Jared 1 on 1’s  before and after practice. My own kids make fun of me when I fall or the ball gets taken away from me. I tell them everyday, that I’m old and broken, but they are kids, they don’t care, all they want to do is play soccer. So I fight through the pain and play. It feel good to actually be active again.

The first day we started practicing, the kids really didn’t know what I was doing on the field. A lot of them only knew me as being the Head Coach of The Tide. So I really didn’t say anything, I just helped set up drills, take pictures and grab jackets for the kids if the want them. Now that has all changed. The first day I didn’t take my cleats. Once they saw me with cleats and gear to play, I started to earn their trust. Now everybody always asks me if they are doing the correct drill or kicking it right. I know to you may say, “What’s so special about that?” If you ever get the chance to take a group of kids, that have the skill to play, and your job is to bring it out of them. That is a great feeling.

Overall, I think that we will do well, but if we don’t win, me and the Head Coach explained to the kids not to worry about it. He told them that they are making history, because Long County has never played in an All-Star Tournament. This is their first Soccer All-Star Team. They can say that they were the first to do it and they have some cool jerseys to wear. I’m proud of my girls for taking soccer serious. Now I have the Coaching bug. After we finish the tournament then we have to start basketball season. I will be coaching the 9-10 girls and my girls are going to play. From one busy sport to another.

Those that know me, know that I suck at basketball, but I can coach it. I know how to teach defense, offense, the proper way to shoot and all the other fundamentals of the game. If I have a  question, I will be asking you guys. A lot of you may not know it, but the girls appreciate the support and wish that all of you could see them play in person. I will be sure to take video and great pictures of the game so I can share with you guys.

#ROLLDAMNTIDE

*Note: I want to apologize for the quality of the pictures, I was using my iPhone. Next time I will my camera.

IMG_6787IMG_6784 IMG_6786IMG_6781 IMG_6776

Published by

Leave a comment