XXXI

For all you conspiracy theorist, the title of today’s Blog is the number 31 in Roman Numeral Form. I don’t need y’all spreading any rumors about “The Regulars” Blog has something to do with the illuminati! On to today’s topic………

When someone says that they LOVE you, how does it make you feel? How do you define the word LOVE? What does it mean to YOU? Me, personally, it all depends on the person saying it. If the person is a close friend or family, then I take it as that individual is communicating to me that they care about me and would do anything, well almost anything for me. The word Love is so overused in our society. According to Webster’s Dictionary Love is defined as a feeling of strong or constant affection for a person; (2) attraction that includes sexual desire; (3) the strong affection felt by people who have a romantic relationship; (4) a person you love in a romantic way. Now based off of that definition, when I say that I LOVE someone I have a strong feeling or constant affection for that person, but this is all based on how long I’ve known that person or we have been in some type of traumatic event together. Traumatic events or being with someone for a 15 month deployment creates a strong bond and you really start to care about individuals. Let’s get this straight right now before I go any further, I am not talking about any type of sexual or homosexual relationships when I mentioned the 15 month deployment. I know many of you already know that, but I felt the need to put that out there before that thought crosses anyones mind.

Back in my macking days, I never said or even brought up the word Love because I wasn’t trying to be serious. One thing I didn’t need is for some girl trying to tie me down and start talking marriage and all. To be honest, all I was trying to do was to get into them draws, just being honest with you guys. Keep this in mind, that I didn’t lose my virginity until I was 19, so that should tell you how much “macking” I did!! A lot of people throw the word love around like it’s a new trend. When I was single, I would listen to some of my friends talk to girls and they would actually tell them they loved them, just so they could have sex with that girl. To a lot of women, not all, when you use that 4 letter word, it means commitment. Now that you have used the word LOVE out of context so you could “get some”, you are committed or playing with their emotions. Women hate to have their emotions played with, trust me I know.

Not to get off the subject, but when I first told my wife I loved her, I meant it. I felt it in my heart. I was love struck. One thing I didn’t realize was that you can’t just say I love you and think that’s it. It takes a lot of work. My goal was to fall deeper in love with her, if that makes any sense to you guys. I hope nobody is lost at this point. Love takes work. The reason why I say that love takes a lot of work is because in some cases, you can fall out of love with someone, whether it be a close friend or your spouse. You have to continue “mold” your love together. Using the word love to describe the feeling you have about certain technology, food or a sport, that’s a different type of love. That type of love means that your compassion for that object or activity, whatever it may be, is extremely high.

I’ve had some friends that have met girls and 2 weeks into the relationship they are saying that they love each other. Really? How in the world can you say you love that person and you barely know them? Crazy, right? It happens all the time. In order to love someone you need to spend time together, get to know one another. Your “LOVE” for that person is LUST not love. I’m not an expert on love, but I’ve been married for 10 years, so I know a thing or two about love. I also talk to other couples and see what works for them and sometimes apply their advice into my relationship.

The purpose of this Blog is to get you to think to yourself or discuss with your significant other on their feelings about the word Love. Everybody has their own way of defining the word love and how soon they say it to their significant other, so don’t take this as me trying to tell you when you should use it. It’s all up to you and the person you are with. This is just a point of view from a REGULAR.

broken heart

Leave a Reply

