29

Today was my soccer team 1st scrimmage. Lets just say we have a LOT of work to do. Today was the first time that I have actually been able to see who can play at what position. Of course, it seems like they gave me all the players that have never played soccer, but I’m a decent teacher so we should be good. In soccer you can explain and talk about a certain position, but until you actually play that position, then the kids shake their head up and down and say they understand what I am talking about. It looks weird with me trying to show them how a drill or play is supposed to be done. I’m BROKE & OLD, but I still do my best to show them. It would be embarrassing to me if my friends saw me trying to show these kids how to play. I look ridiculous. Hey, it’s all for fun.

That’s the main thing I am trying to teach the kids. At the end of practice or at the end of a game, if you feel that you have given 100% and you had fun, mission accomplished. All I want the kids to do is have fun. I do want to win, but I really don’t care about that. I want to make sure they have the fundamentals down, then we work on trick shots and all that other good stuff. The team we scrimmaged today, is an awesome team. The majority of the players are on a traveling soccer team, so they play with each other all year. After the scrimmage I went to the coaches, who are good friends of mine, and said to them that they didn’t have to do us like that. His reply was, we took it easy on you guys! That made my confidence level shoot through the roof, NOT! Of course, there were no kids around when we talked about it. We have some work to do, but it’s going to take some time. We will get it together, it might take all season, but these kids will be better at the end of the season than they began.

I do have some parents that are competitive and they were getting on to their kid for not playing a certain way. I had to say hey, it’s just a game. Nobody is getting paid. Let the kids have fun. If they’re not having fun and you force them to play then that’s when you start dealing with attitudes. If you are shorter than me and a lot younger than me, you aren’t allowed to say the word attitude around me. I’m trying to teach them to play together and have fun.

Pretty interesting day. Parent/Teacher conference went my way and had a good practice. I’m happy, my wife is happy and the girls are happy. Today was a good day for us REGULARS.

Leave a Reply

