Fünfundzwanzig

I know that teachers have a hard job and they don’t get paid what they deserve. I also understand that they are human and have bad days just like others. What upsets me is when teachers don’t put out specific instructions. Are we the parents supposed to figure out what you want? No, we’re not, because we aren’t the teachers. This is what has me all upset. My daughter was to turn in a project on poster board. All the instructions stated was that the poster board had to be “regular” sized. So my wife goes out and buys what she thinks is a regular sized piece of poster board. My daughter gets the project done and turn it in. Well, yesterday when she came home from school she hands me a piece of paper. This piece of paper said that she received a 95 because it wasn’t on the correct kind of poster board. At this point I’m pissed! I go straight to the computer, bring up the teachers email and start typing, good thing my wife came home, because I was being really rude to this teacher. My wife calmed me down and together we came up with a nice way of explaining that we were not pleased with the grade she was given.

Today, after I picked them up from school I asked my daughter if her teacher received the email we sent. My daughter says yes she did, but told her that she had it on the wrong kind of poster board so she isn’t going to change the grade. Of course now I want to slap the shit out of this lady! How are you going to penalize my child because you failed to put out what kind and dimensions you wanted the poster board to be? I understand that I may be turning this issue into a big one, but my daughter worked very hard on this project and she didn’t get what she deserved and she was upset. Now this teacher is going to see the MAD DAD come out of me. I’m not going to be ignorant and go into the school yelling and raising hell, but I am going to let this teacher know exactly how I feel about this situation. She asked to meet with me on Friday for a parent teacher conference and I replied, sure I will be there.

When it comes to my family, I don’t play. I want to show these teachers that my daughters have parents that care about their well being and education, because there are a lot of parents that send their children to school and treat school like a daycare. I will go to the end of the earth for my children. You may be saying it’s only 5 points, why are you so upset? I’m upset because the teacher failed to put out specific information and my daughter was penalized. Nope! I’m not letting that slide. I want you readers to understand that I want my children to put 100% into whatever they do. If they give 100% and don’t get the results expected, we come up with a new game plan then attack the problem again. My way of coming up with a new game plan and attacking this problem is to do everything in my power for my daughter to get the grade she deserves and that grade is a 100.

My wife and I do our best to comply with whatever their teachers ask, but if we feel that something isn’t right or they aren’t getting fair treatment, then we are going to say something. I understand teachers deal with a lot and they have different personalities to deal with, I got it; but because you are a teacher, doesn’t mean you are allowed to do or say what you want my child. Many of you readers are thinking that I’m making a mountain out of a mole hill, if that’s the case then it is what it is. My family is the MOST important thing in my life and I will do whatever it takes to make sure they get what they deserve and make sure they are fairly treated. By this point in my post if you haven’t figured that out then the world you live in is a lot different than mine. My family will always come first and as readers you should feel the same way.

Leave a Reply

