XXII

I like to listen to a lot of different genres of music. My favorite genre is Rap/Hip-Hop of course. This list doesn’t stay in this same order all the time. One day I might say Cam’ron is number one. It all depends on the type of mood I’m in that day. I know everybody has their own “Top 10” list of Rappers. Here is mine:

1. Jay-Z/ T.I.

2. Mos Def (Yasiin Bey)/ Talib Kweli

3. SneakerBox Chock

4. The Game

5. Tupac/ Notorious B.I.G.

6. Busta Rhymes

7. Cam’ron

8. Lupe Fiasco

9. Eminem

10. J. Cole/ Kendrick Lamar

(Honorable Mention: Wiz Khalifa)

I know you noticed that on number 1, 2, 5, and 10 there are two artists. Don’t ask me why, it’s just what I felt like doing. If any of these artists happen to change up their style instead of being themselves and start trying to be apart of what’s trending, they fall off my list.

Some of you are thinking why don’t I have certain artists on my list? I’m a big fan lyricism. If you don’t have positive content or you are trying to tell me a story in your music, then what’s the point? A lot of new Artists ease their way into the music industry by some catchy trend or some new dance. Hip-Hop has changed so much since the eighties. Yes, it has become a lot better due to technology, but there are a lot of artists that continuously speak about the same boring content on every single album they put out.(I got 500 cars, I can go into a club and make it rain, I pop bottles, etc.) You get my point. Hip-Hop is constantly changing and I’m not against that, but some artists just throw some crappy lyrics together and put a banging beat behind it and it becomes a hit. How does this happen? Have we forgotten about the 4 Elements of Hip-Hop? If you don’t know the 4 Elements of Hip-Hop I will let you know what they are: 1. MC’ing; 2. DJ’ing; 3. B-Boying (Break dancing); 4. Graffiti.

This is what I believe the definition of Rap is: it is one of the elements of hip hop as well as the distinguishing feature of most hip hop music. It is a form of rhyming lyrics delivered rhythmically over a musical backdrop of sampling, scratching and mixing by DJs. Originally, rapping was called MCing and accompanied by a DJ. Real MC’ing and the need for a DJ is a dying art, but One hit wonders are popping up everywhere. Its crazy! If you look over my “Top 10” list you can see that every one of those artists are TRUE lyricist.

Rap/Hip-Hop isn’t the only genre of music I listen to. I happen to listen to Country and Classic Rock also. First, I’ll start of with my “Top 5” Country Artists:

1. Trace Adkins

2. Toby Keith

3. Darius Rucker

4. Big & Rich

5. Craig Morgan

(Honorable Mention: Tim McGraw)

I know readers out there that don’t listen to country are like “who the hell are they?” Before I started listening to country all I thought it was about was, somebody killed my dog and my wife left me now I’m sad, I just bought me a brand new truck with a 10 inch lift (I know that’s extreme, but you see where I’m coming from). That’s a very ignorant way of thinking, right? Once I started listening to the content that the country music artist was trying to convey, I was intrigued and wanted to hear more. My Classic Rock list could be a lot longer, but here are the main 5 that I listen to:

My Top 5 Classic Rock Band/ Singer:

1. Bon Jovi

2. Europe

3. AC/DC

4. Survivor

5. White Snake

(Honorable Mention: Jimi Hendrix)

Eighties rock was awesome and that’s why I still listen to it today. I guess because I grew up in the eighties, maybe that’s the reason why I like to listen to it. Since I’m on my music kick today I will also give you my Top 5 Alternative Bands.

1. 30 Seconds to Mars

2. Green Day

3. 311

4. Breaking Benjamin

5. Disturbed

(Honorable Mention: Drowning Pool)

The reason why I also listen to Alternative is because to ME, you may think differently, but I feel it’s because no band or artist is the same. I feel that each band brings their own uniqueness and that appeals to me.

I could go on and on about music because I love music. While listening to music you can mentally go where ever you want. Just like my Blog, music is an outlet for me. I can’t play any instruments or anything, but if I put the right song on, its able to calm me down or if I am trying to get my workout on or just cleaning around the house. It’s crazy how music can affect your mood. It has a lot of power. I don’t believe that if you listen to music that talks about negativity that it makes you do bad things. I think that is an excuse that the media and sometimes parents use all the time is bull crap! It’s the way they were raised and how they are treated at home. Bullying at school could also be a reason, but I’m not trying to get into all that. I wanted to share with you some of the music I listen to. If you don’t know any of these artists on either of my lists, I suggest you give them a try. You never know, you might like it. What type of music do you listen to and who are your favorite artists? I would love some feedback from you guys. I’ll be patiently waiting!!

Leave a Reply

