21.5

Today was my 1st soccer practice. It went pretty well. I have 11 players, 8 boys and 3 girls. My girls are on my team and haven’t played in 5 years, but they did a great job today. We have a lot of work to do before opening day. I didn’t play soccer in high school, but I coached last year so I have a little experience. The strengths on my team are: they play well together, follow directions and can dribble for short distances. My weaknesses are: stamina and endurance, ball control, kicking power and they all want to gravitate to the ball.
Today’s practice all I focused on was the fundamentals, dribbling, cutting and taking a shot at the goal and they did a lot of running. I plan on starting and ending every practice with a lap around the whole soccer field. If they don’t listen or get to rowdy then I’m going to make them take a lap. I know there are some soccer players out there, do you guys have any ideas for drills? Today we did back pedaling then sprinting, suicides, shuffling side to side and passing.
Overall for my first practice it went very well. If you guys have any suggestions or ideas I am open to them. This is my second year coaching. Last year I coach 13 & 14 year olds. This year I’m coaching 10 & 11 year olds. I can say that the younger group of kids is a lot easier to work with than teens.
I feel that this year will be different, because last year out of 10 games we won 1 and that was the last game of the year. Maybe they felt pity for us, who knows. As long as I continue to teach the fundamentals and we improve every practice, we will do well. Last year I was just thrown into the fire, but this year, I’m taking more of a coaching role. It feels pretty good. As I said before, if you have any suggestions for drills or plays, don’t hesitate to let me know.

Leave a Reply

