11

Here’s an interesting fact about me that you may not know. I’m a NERD. When you see the word Nerd, don’t think of the “traditional” nerd. You know, glasses, high-water pants and pocket protector. This may be funny to you, but I think of myself as a “COOL” nerd. One of the main reasons why I consider myself a nerd is because I love watching National Geographic, The Discovery Channel, Investigation Discovery and many other channels that I wish not to disclose at this time.

On most days, when I have a chance to relax and watch these channels it’s after I drop the girls off at school. Well, this morning after I dropped the girls off, I tuned in to watch a recorded show of Doomsday Preppers. Let’s not forget that I am home alone. Don’t get me wrong, I ain’t no punk, but as the narrator started talking about the end of days and how marauders will be attacking your house trying to take everything you have, I paused the DVR, got up from my chair, walked to all three doors in the house to make sure they were locked and set the alarm. I also went to every window just to make sure they were closed and locked. YES……..I did this!

***My transition here is rough, so bare with me. ***

Sit back, relax and close your eyes (don’t really close your eyes) and take a mental stroll with me. Growing up, my family was very, very religious. When I say religious this is what I mean: If the church doors were open, guess what? We were there. Sunday morning service, Sunday night service, Wednesday night service, if there was a revival going on we were there (if you don’t know what a revival is, it’s where you have a whole bunch of churches that get together, you have a guest preacher come preach. The purpose is to get people that don’t normally attend church to become a member, most revivals last about a week). You get my point. As an adult, I have strayed away from my religious upbringing. I still think I have a strong relationship with God, but it’s different from when I was growing up. I do pray, but it may not be the traditional way of praying, but he knows my heart.

I’ve said all that to say this, I do believe that the world is going to come to an end. When? No one knows. I strongly believe that NO ONE person on this earth can predict when it’s going to end. As we all saw on December 21, 2012, what happened? Nothing. Everything continued as they were supposed to. On December 31, 2012 everyone continued on with whatever it is they do to celebrate the New Year. I believe that the Mayans just got tired of writing and stopped at that date. Who would want to write that much, really? This is my opinion, I feel If Preppers think that they have to stockpile food, ammunition, weapons and build themselves a bunker to make themselves feel better then who am I to judge? Everyone has a right to believe in who and whatever they want, I see it as entertaining television.

Don’t take this blog as me trying to preach to you or force religion down your throat. That’s not the point I’m trying to make. I’m giving you my point of view based on how I was brought up and how the bible was taught to me. I am still a strong believer in God and the bible and try to live my life in the most positive way possible. I am not a saint and I will never claim to be. My wife and I strive everyday to set a positive example for our girls. I’m not going to force religion on them like it was on me. My goal at the end of the day is for them to know that there is a higher power that is in control and he controls our fate.

20130904-210107.jpg

3 thoughts on “11

  1. You get an A+ for being transparent and honest! I love it! And JJ… you left out how you mounted the pulpit and preached when we were kids too! I remember your sermonettes… you wanted to be like your Uncle Cedric!

    1. I am going to mention them, but I want to do a whole blog on them. I really appreciate the support Keesha! I can’t put in words on how much it means to me. Again, Thank You!

  2. Hi Jaredjgober. First thing I would like to point out is that we both share the same theme so I would say that is a nice coincidence and as you mentioned about feedback for your blog I think that you need to improve on the ‘Title’ of your blog. The title seems confusing for the people reading it for the first time. So to interest them a bit you need to give better titles to your blog.

Leave a Reply

